Daily Life in New France

Soldiers

Minor Offenses

Minor offences, especially indiscipline, drunkenness and offences related to morals and manners, were punished with military sanctions.

Accusations, usually brought by petty officers, were either upheld or not by more senior officers after a short investigation. Serious cases were transferred to the Conseil de guerre.

A registry kept in Louisbourg and dated April 1752 informs us that indiscipline was usually punished there by eight days in the dungeon. However, the main transgression appears to have been drunkenness. For instance, the soldier Saint-Vile was sentenced "for being drunk and passing water before ladies. Stayed [in the dungeon]: 8 days." Others who were punished included "Lacroix ... for becoming drunk and missing drill," who "stayed 8 days," and "Orléac ... for leaving the cookhouse and getting drunk," who "stayed 15 days." "Fighting in the room" was usually punished by eight days in the dungeon, and showing disrespect for a superior by 15 days.

Among minor offences, the most serious was stealing from a comrade. Anyone who committed this offence covered himself in shame. Some men even had to "run the gauntlet" and were imprisoned for a month for this transgression. Running the gauntlet was the severest punishment among French infantrymen, and the only one that was physical in nature. The convicted man had to run between two rows of soldiers who struck him on the back with the ramrods of their muskets. This was considered to be a particularly ignominious punishment, and the rehabilitation of the guilty party could well require him to renew his oath to the flag before his assembled comrades-in-arms.

The punishments meted out to French soldiers for offences of this kind were rather mild in comparison with those inflicted on their British adversaries, who suffered dozens or even hundreds of strokes of the terrible cat-o'-nine-tails (a whip with nine pieces of knotted cord) for the same offences. The more moderate French punishments produced the same results, without leaving the horrible scars found on the backs of the unfortunate British soldiers.

La vie quotidienne en Nouvelle-France

Les soldats

Les délits mineurs

Pour les délits mineurs ayant trait surtout à l'indiscipline, à l'ivrognerie et aux moeurs, des châtiments militaires sont prévus. Les accusations, habituellement portées par un sous-officier, sont entérinées ou non par les officiers après une enquête sommaire. Les cas graves sont transférés au Conseil de guerre.

Un registre tenu à Louisbourg et daté d'avril 1752 nous apprend que dans cette forteresse l'indiscipline est habituellement punie de 8 jours de cachot. Mais le principal délit semble être l'ivrognerie. Ainsi, le soldat Saint-Vile est condamné « pour avoir étant gris [ivre] tombé [uriné] de l'eau devant des dames. Resté [au cachot] 8 jours.» ; « Lacroix... pour s'être grisé [enivré] et manqué à l'exercice. Resté 8 jours.» ; « Orléac... pour avoir quitté sa cuisine pour aller s'yvrer. Resté 15 jours. » Pour « s'être battu dans la chambre », on passe habituellement 8 jours au cachot, mais on s'en voit imposer 15 pour avoir manqué de respect à un supérieur.

Parmi les délits mineurs, le plus grave est de voler un camarade. Celui qui le commet se couvre de déshonneur. Quelques-uns sont même « passés par les baguettes » et emprisonnés un mois pour s'en être rendus coupables. « Les baguettes » représente le châtiment le plus sévère chez les fantassins français, et le seul qui soit de nature corporelle. Il consiste à faire passer le coupable entre deux rangées de soldats qui le frappent au dos avec la baguette de leurs fusils. Ce traitement est considéré comme infamant et la réhabilitation du coupable peut exiger qu'il renouvelle sa foi au drapeau devant ses camarades assemblés sous les armes.

Quand on regarde les peines, somme toute légères, imposées aux militaires français pour des délits de cet ordre, on ne peut que plaindre leurs adversaires britanniques qui, eux, croulent sous des dizaines, voire des centaines de coups du terrible fouet à neuf lanières (le chat à neuf queues), pour les mêmes offenses. Ces corrections disciplinaires plus modérées obtiennent pourtant les mêmes résultats, moins les horribles cicatrices laissées au dos des infortunés militaires britanniques.