Daily Life in New France

Officers

Amusements

Officers certainly expected to spend their leisure time engaged in more refined activities than did soldiers. Some officers frequented taverns, but more often they attended the parties and balls thrown regularly by the bourgeois and superior officers of the town.

The pleasures of the table played an important role in their social lives. The engineer Franquet left an excellent description of a dinner given by the governor of Trois-Rivières for officers and their wives in July, 1752. Seated in the dining room, around a table with 20 settings, the guests particularly appreciated "the profusion and delicacy of the dishes from the best provinces in France." "We drank all sorts of wine, always chilled," continued Franquet's account. "Imagine the pleasure of this, especially as the weather was very hot." 115

Madame Bégon, a fine Canadian letter-writer, left some delicious passages on the social life of the Montreal military elite during the 1740s. There was an endless succession of balls, parties and receptions, and dancing masters were very busy. Some balls were given especially for cadets and young officers so that they could meet girls from their own class. Young or not so young, masked or not, they danced the minuet, sang, and drank toasts to each other's health with "excellent" champagne and good wines. One particular evening, the officers Noyan and Saint-Luc raised their glasses so often that they could not get up. Another time, the Baron de Longueuil was "more than tipsy," and Captain Noyan fell while dancing the minuet and lost his wig. Manners at the balls given by the governor general were somewhat less free and easy!

The clergy of the era generally opposed the merrymaking of the officers, though without much success. According to Baron de La Hontan, the clergy were extremely narrow-minded. One of their representatives even went so far as to destroy his copy of Petronius. The clergy looked askance not only at balls and certain books; the theatre also came in for its share of criticism. In 1694, Frontenac organized comedy productions at the Château Saint-Louis in order to "amuse the officers a little." 116 Nicodème and Mithridate were put on, to the great indignation of Monseigneur de SaintVallier, who discreetly offered the governor general 100 pistoles not to mount Molière's Tartu ffe. Frontenac agreed to change his plans, took the money, and spread gossip about the whole affair, to great general amusement. Things had not changed much 50 years later, when the bishop of New France, Monseignor Dubreuil de Pontbriand, denounced the balls and parties and even suspended a priest for having taken part in a reception given by the intendant. This didn't get him anywhere, as shortly thereafter a farce was staged at a ball for officers and bourgeois, which ridiculed the clergy's stand. The authors of the farce are unknown, but one can imagine that some officers had a hand in it.

Officers also spent their spare time playing cards, dice, chess, checkers, backgammon and ninepins, in addition to going hunting and fishing. They shared the Canadians' passion for racing horses, with riders in summer and drawing sleighs over ice in winter, as well as for the betting that accompanied it.

Officers' amorous adventures seem to have been less in the public eye than those of ordinary soldiers. It was not considered honourable for officers to frequent bawdy houses. However, women of easy virtue could always go to their houses, as happened in 1687 when the commandant of Fort Chédabouctou was surprised "in bed sleeping among [Amerindian] women or girls." 117 There were also cases of cohabitation and unwed pregnancies that were considered very scandalous at the time. The most infamous case involved Pierre Le Moyne d'Iberville and Jeanne-Geneviève Picoté de Belestre during the 1680s. In general, though, officers maintained an aura of discretion around their amorous exploits and do not seem to have been caught committing too many misdemeanours, at least in comparison with other times and places.

La vie quotidienne en Nouvelle-France

Les officiers

Les divertissements

Les loisirs des officiers se veulent plus raffinés que ceux des soldats. Certes, on en voit qui fréquentent les cabarets, mais on les trouve plus souvent dans les soirées et les bals que donnent régulièrement les officiers supérieurs et les bourgeois de la place.

Les plaisirs de la table tiennent une place importante parmi les agréments de leur vie sociale. Le témoignage de l'ingénieur Franquet donne un excellent aperçu d'un souper offert, en juillet 1752, par le gouverneur de Trois-Rivières, aux officiers et à leurs épouses. Dans la salle à manger, autour d'une table de 20 couverts, les convives apprécièrent « la profusion et la délicatesse des mets des meilleures provinces de France. On y bût toutes sortes de vin, toujours à la glace ; jugez du plaisir par le chaud excessif qu'il fesait » 115.

Madame Bégon, fine épistolière canadienne, a laissé des passages délicieux sur la vie sociale de l'élite militaire à Montréal, durant les années 1740. Les bals, les fêtes et les réceptions s'y succèdent et les maîtres à danser sont fort occupés. On donne même des bals à l'intention des cadets et jeunes officiers, afin de leur permettre de rencontrer les jeunes filles de leur classe. Jeunes ou moins jeunes, masqués ou à visage découvert, on danse le menuet, on chante et on arrose le tout en faisant des « santé » avec du champagne « excellent » et de bons vins. Un certain soir, les officiers Noyan et Saint-Luc lèvent si souvent leurs verres qu'ils « restent sur place ». Une autre fois, le baron de Longueuil est « plus que gris » et le capitaine Noyan tombe en dansant le menuet et perd sa perruque ! On est plus réservé lors des bals donnés par le gouverneur général.

Le clergé de l'époque s'oppose, mais sans grand succès, aux réjouissances des officiers. Il semble, si l'on en croit les dires du baron de La Hontan, qu'il ait été d'une exceptionnelle étroitesse d'esprit. Un de ses représentants ne va-t-il pas jusqu'à détruire son exemplaire de Pétrone ? Mais il n'y a pas qu'aux livres et aux bals qu'il s'en prenne. Le théâtre attirera aussi ses foudres. En 1694, voulant « distraire un peu les officiers » 116, Frontenac organise la comédie au château Saint-Louis. On y donne Nicodème et Mithridate, au grand scandale de Mgr de Saint-Vallier, qui offre, discrètement, 100 pistoles au gouverneur général pour le dissuader de faire jouer le Tartuffe de Molière. Frontenac accepte de changer son projet, prend l'argent et ébruite toute l'affaire, au grand amusement général. Les choses n'ont pas tellement évolué 50 ans plus tard, quand l'évêque de la Nouvelle-France, Mgr Dubreuil de Pontbriand, s'élève contre les bals et les fêtes et suspend même un prêtre pour avoir assisté à une réception donnée par l'intendant. Peine perdue... Au cours d'un bal, peu après, les officiers et les bourgeois se voient présenter une comédie-bouffe qui ridiculise l'opposition du clergé ! On n'en connaît pas les auteurs, mais on peut penser que certains officiers n'y étaient pas étrangers.

Pour occuper leurs loisirs, les officiers peuvent encore jouer aux cartes, aux dés, aux échecs, aux dames, au tric-trac et aux quilles, sans oublier les parties de pêche et de chasse. Ils partagent certainement, en outre, la passion des Canadiens pour les courses de chevaux, tant sur selle durant l'été qu'en carriole sur glace durant l'hiver, et pour les paris qui en découlent.

Les divertissements amoureux des officiers semblent moins excessifs que ceux des soldats. Il faut dire que la fréquentation des maisons closes n'est pas considérée comme très honorable pour un gradé. Évidemment, les filles aux mœurs légères peuvent toujours se rendre à résidence, comme cela arriva en 1687, quand le commandant du fort Chédabouctou fut surpris « dans son lit, dormant entre des femmes ou filles » 117 amérindiennes. Il y eut aussi des cas d'unions libres et de grossesses prématurées qui firent scandale à l'époque. Le plus célèbre fut sans doute celui qui mit en cause Pierre Le Moyne d'Iberville et Jeanne-Geneviève Picoté de Belestre, durant les années 1680. En général, cependant, les aventures galantes des officiers restent discrètes et ils ne semblent pas se rendre coupables de trop d'écarts de conduite, du moins pas plus que sous d'autres cieux.